This is NOT a piece about anger, resentment, or revenge. It’s about compassion, support and love.

To be honest I’m kind of mentally tired from listening to the news all day about these tragic incidents. But I’m glad we as a people have gotten so good response from the world on how we’re dealing with this. A German newspaper said:

“Even in their deepest sorrow the Norwegians don’t get hysterical. They resist the hate. It is amazing to see how politicians and the whole country react. They are sad to the deepest thread of their souls. They cry in dignity. But nobody swears to take revenge. Instead they want even more humanity and democracy. That is one of the most remarkable strengths of that little country.” And I think it’s true.

A Norwegian girl said this on CNN:

“If one man can create that much hatred, you can only imagine how much love we as a togetherness can create.”

Yesterday we showed compassion by bringing flowers and candles to remember those who have passed away. I’ve never seen that many people gather in Stavanger’s main square.  I was there with some friends and my mother, and we placed the flowers on the steps of the church.  I saw people off all origins come to show their support. I want to emphasise that they too are Norwegians. I’m relieved that the guy who did these terrible things was an ethnic Norwegian. I think this will open up the minds of people, to accept our multicultural society, to be more open. I feel there is hope that one day we can reach acceptance, and respect each other. It’s one of my biggest wishes to not be a prejudice society, but an including one.

One thought on “A wave of hope embraces the Norwegian society

Legg igjen en kommentar

